God Does Not Respond to Addictive Demands

“Participant: I’m starting to realise that if we have a really strong desire for God it could be an addiction expecting Him to love us.

Jesus: We have a lot of addictions with God. And in fact God doesn’t respond to addictive demands. That’s one thing we need to remember about God.

So this is one way that we can tell whether we have addictions with God. We pray, we pray, we pray, we pray… nothing happens. We pray, we pray… nothing happens. We pray, we pray… nothing happens. We pray… now, ” F you, God, I’m not praying no more”. That tells me that all the previous prayers were all addictions. They were all demands because remember the anger-based response is when the addiction or expectation or demand is not being met.

The truth is you will never get angry when you’re out of your addictions. You’ll never get angry again. I’m not talking about the childhood anger, where you’re processing an emotion and you’re laying on the ground just having a good scream, I’m talking about the adult anger where you’re just in a rage because something that you wanted did not happen. And because something we wanted didn’t happen we turned to anger, and the anger is telling us that actually none of what we just did was motivated by a pure motive; it was all motivated by an unloving motive, a motive to avoid a fear, or avoid some grief, or to control.

You see the anger is a very good guide. Remember three years ago now I gave a talk about, “The Human Soul – Anger is your guide”. Many of you are yet to learn this actually; anger is your guide, telling you that, “Oh! I have an addiction, and it’s unloving. That’s what my anger is telling me.” And if I look at my expectations and demands, in that addiction, I will find and discover the fear that those demands and expectations cover. And if I let myself feel those fears, as an emotion, I will actually get to the underlying reason why I did all that in the first place, and while I’m there, now God can connect to me. And God can connect to me because I’m now in my true self, I’ve now had an awakening to what’s going on inside of my own soul because I wanted to, I made that choice to.

So when we’re in these addictions, we are so far removed from God that we have no chance of connecting. We need to go in and down to get to the connection point.

So we need to go into the anger, we go, “Okay I’m angry, I’m angry. I admit that I’m angry. Okay there’s an addiction in play. I’m angry so there’s got to be an addiction.” And even at that point most of us go, “No it’s your fault I’m angry.” For example, “It was my husband’s fault; he didn’t do the right thing by me.” Or, “It was my wife’s fault or my children’s fault.” It’s always somebody else’s fault, right? No, it’s because you have expectations and demands that you’re angry, that’s the only reason why you’re angry. So it’s within me – my expectations, my demands – that create this rage within me. So I go, “Okay, there’s an addiction inside of me that I desperately do not want to release. What is it?”

This is where prayer now comes into effect – where we can start praying for God to help us with finding what it is. Talk to our spirit guides who can lead us to show us what it is.”

Original Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPbW3jUH0V8

Leave a Reply

